How many of the Top 100 Fiction Novels have you read?

24 Sep

As I mentioned in an earlier blog post – 25 Challenging Vocabulary Words from Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina – I’ve undertaken a Literacy Project with a couple of my advanced ESL students who were interested in joining me in reading books from the Modern Library’s 100 Best Books List.

This extra-curricular reading project was inspired when, after browsing the list and realizing I had only read a mere 17 on the list of 100, I felt quite embarrassed with myself!  Since then I’ve read two more to up my count to 19 – Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina, and Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby, which was fantastic, poetic, quick and wonderful that I read it in two short days (keeping in mind that I’m a working mom to a toddler, I felt this was a great feat! ^^).

I wonder how many of the books from this list you’ve read?  What’s your count?  How literary are today’s English teachers?  If you don’t mind sharing your answer, please leave a comment.  This could be interesting!  Again, the link is here.

While on the topic, I thought I’d throw in a couple of helpful links I’ve found for teachers on…

PROMOTING LITERACY in the ESL CLASSROOM

Adult ESL Literacy Survival Guide for Instructors – By Janet Massaro for ELSAnet

Literacy Connections – Promoting Literacy and a Love for Reading

BC Ministry of Education – Resources for Teachers: Improving Literacy

4 Responses to “How many of the Top 100 Fiction Novels have you read?”

  1. Sandy Millin September 25, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    I’ve read 20 from the board’s list and a few more from the readers lisr, as well as being in the process of reading The Satanic Verses. That’s partly due to the BBC’s Big Read initiative, which they started in 2003. When I saw it, I decided to read all 100 of those books (started with 25) and finished my challenge 2 years ago 🙂
    Sandy

    • JenniferTeacher October 1, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

      Thanks for sharing Sandy! It’s interesting that many of the BBC’s Best Read List of 100 are not on the Modern Library’s list. It’s all subjective of course, and BBC is European, while the Modern Library is American I believe.

      I’m up to 22 now and am reading Ayn Rand’s Atlas Shrugged. The Satanic Verses is an amazing, fabulous novel once you get hooked. Hope you’re enjoying it~

  2. Sandy Millin October 1, 2011 at 11:32 pm #

    I am enjoying it, although I don’t carry round as it’s a huge heavy hardback. Not very portable so it’s taking me ages. i love Rushdie’s writing style and I enjoyed Midnight’s Children when I read that too.

    • JenniferTeacher October 5, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

      I love Rushdie’s writing style, too. He’s very poetic. Yes! I love having a book in my hands, but when I’m on the go I’m thankful for my Kobo eReader… And I just discovered the Kobo app for my smartphone! So, I can bring my “eLibrary” with me wherever I go! What an amazing leap of progress for reading fanatics. ^^

Leave a Reply

